Phase 4

The Superfast Leicestershire project rolls out fibre broadband across the county in phases in order to get maximum coverage for residents and businesses.

Before starting each delivery phase, we issue a public consultation to give the public the opportunity to express where broadband intervention is needed most. Based on responses, we then put together State Aid maps which show proposed delivery.

The State Aid maps are then shared and suppliers are invited to bid on the contract so that together, the work can be delivered.

The phase 4 contract notice was issued in April 2020 and further details of the next steps can be seen below:


1. Outcome of the Public Consultation

The Public Consultation to determine and validate the Intervention Area for the Leicestershire County Council upcoming procurement closed on 29th October 2019. Following this process, the eligible Intervention Area for the project will be determined. The final State Aid maps for Next Generation Access (NGA) Broadband and Basic Broadband are shown below and are available on the district Council’s website.

The project team intends to launch a public procurement to secure NGA network solutions to serve the Intervention Area.

2. Timescales

The following table summarises the indicative timescales for the procurement:

Activity Date
Issue of Contract Notice April 2020
Closing date for Expressions of Interest May 2020
Bidders sign up to Code of Conduct May 2020
Bidder access to the Data Room May 2020
Clarification Question process June 2020
Bidders prepare responses April to July 2020
Bidders response evaluation and clarification August 2020
Local body initial governance – sign off evaluation and preferred bidder September 2020
Bidders notified of evaluation outcome September 2020
Standstill period September 2020
Contract finalisation/Due Diligence September 2020
DCMS Approvals including State Aid and Funding October 2020
Local body final governance and Contract award October/November 2020
Contract signature November 2020

3. Revised State Aid Maps

The following criteria have been used to determine the classification of areas into Basic Broadband and NGA White/Grey/Black areas respectively:

For basic broadband,

• All premises in the OGA are assumed to have access to a basic broadband service either through existing suppliers or through a request for subsidy for the installation of a service under the Better Broadband scheme.

For NGA,

• A postcode is classified as NGA white if it contains premises without any broadband infrastructure operator providing NGA services.

• A postcode is turned grey if there are premises where only one broadband infrastructure operator is providing NGA services (supporting minimum speeds of at least 30Mbps).

• A postcode is turned black if there are at least two broadband infrastructure operators providing NGA services (supporting minimum speeds of at least 30Mbps) to all premises in that postcode.

In addition, the proposed Intervention Area includes “under review” areas (coloured blue on the map). These are areas where there is uncertainty that NGA services have or will be delivered or have been reported as being ‘at risk’ of not being completed. Areas that potentially have NGA white premises but where individual premises cannot yet be identified have also been marked “under review”. These areas will be subject to continued monitoring and verification of operator plans by the project team within the 3 year period and in the event that these commercial plans fall away these premises will be mapped as NGA white and form part of the eligible Intervention Area via this aid measure.

The mapping analysis of existing and concretely planned coverage (within the next 3 years) has identified remaining ‘white NGA’ areas. The outcome of the Public Consultation is summarised below in terms of NGA White, Grey, Black and “under review” premises in NGA White, Grey, Black and “under review” postcodes.

Postcodes status Total number of postcodes Number of black premises Number of grey premises Number of white premises Number of under review premises
NGA Black 18 249 0 0 0
NGA Grey 5,499 216 114,923 0 0
NGA White 1,002 8 9,712 5,928 184
NGA Under Review 733 1 12,685 0 5,948

The Overall Geographic Area (OGA) for the procurement covers east Leicestershire, encompassing all postcodes and premises within the boundary of the districts of Harborough, Melton, Oadby and Wigston, as well as parts of Charnwood and Blaby.  The Intervention Area includes 5,928 NGA White premises, however there are an additional 6,132 Under Review premises that could potentially be brought into scope of the procurement if plans are not completed and confirmed by the monitoring team.

All premises in the district are believed to have access to a Basic Broadband service through existing commercial operators. The following table summarises the outcome of the Open Market Review in terms of White, Grey and Black postcodes and premises for Basic Broadband:

Postcodes status Number of black premises Number of grey premises Number of white premises
Black postcodes




Grey postcodes




White postcodes




4. State Aid Maps

The State Aid maps for the Intervention Area are shown below for NGA Broadband and Basic Broadband respectively:


6. Status of Intervention Area

The State Aid Public Consultation is now closed. The project team will shortly submit its State aid (Part 1) notification to the National Competence Centre (part of the Department for Culture Media and Sport) which oversees the UK National Broadband Scheme. A decision on the eligibility of the proposed Intervention Area is expected in April 2020. If clearance is granted, the Intervention Areas mapped above will be confirmed as eligible for public sector intervention for the forthcoming procurement.

7. Contact Details

If you have any questions about any of the above, please contact:

Superfast Leicestershire